Say “hello” to Adele’s new song

Publication date: November 5, 2015.

“Hello” was not only a greeting last week. On Oct. 23, British singer Adele released her latest single titled “Hello.” This is her first song release in three years, so it’s kind of a big deal for her fans.

The single is a part of her long-awaited third album entitled 25, a reflection of her age when the album was recorded.

So, where has Adele been for three years? After she released her hit “Skyfall” to accompany the James Bond film in 2012, she took some time for herself.

Adele married Simon Konecki in 2011 and had a child with him in 2012. The relationship turned sour and, as a result, she released her second album entitled 21.

According to the star herself, “My last record was a breakup album, and if I had to label this one I would call it a make-up album. I’m making up with myself. Making up for the lost time. Making up with everything I ever did and never did.”

Adele released a personal statement on Twitter on Oct. 21, just two days before “Hello” showed up on the music charts. The post included a photo of a letter signed by Adele.

The letter powerfully illustrated her constant desire to be older ever since she was eight years old. “I’ve spent my whole life wishing it away,” she says, “wishing I hadn’t ruined so many good things because I was scared or bored.”

The singer ended her message explaining the purpose of 25: “25 is about getting to know who I’ve become without realizing. And I’m sorry it took so long, but you know, life happened. Love, Adele.”

“Hello” was released as a music video very typical of Adele’s style. Filmed in a sepia tone, the video features Adele singing in the woods as flashes of her lover, played by Tristan Wilds, appear on the screen.

“Hello” is an emotional ballad directed at a lost lover; she attempts to apologize to him for breaking his heart, but realizes that it isn’t worth it and moves on.

The song’s message acts as a glimpse into Adele’s new unapologetic lifestyle. Her strong voice against the piano is enough to send chills down one’s spine.

Albright College sophomore Bianca Lugo-Roman believes that all of her songs are too similar. “All of her music sounds the same…Don’t get me wrong, she has a lovely voice but I think she could do so much more than the mysterious eerie sound she has going for her.”

Personally, I enjoy the song a lot. I think I can speak for many fans when I say, we’ve missed you Adele. Welcome back.

Leave a Reply

